Skip to main content

Configuration Guide

This section contains advanced information for ANALYZE process engineers who are primarily concerned with configuring itemis ANALYZE. The subsections outline ways to export and share Eclipse-specific configuration and ANALYZE-specific preferences. Further, there is a best practices section containing state of the art knowledge regarding itemis ANALYZE.

How to create and share project set configuration​

Project set configuration can be defined by the ANALYZE process engineer to ensure that all itemis ANALYZE users have the required projects from the correct SCM repositories (e.g. SVN, GIT) in their workspace.

A project set configuration can be created by the following steps

  • Import all required projects from the corresponding repositories into your workspace
  • Select File → Export → Team Project Set and press Next
  • Select all projects that should be imported by the project set configuration and press Next
  • Select a location and a file name
  • Select Finish to export the project set configuration

The exported project set configuration can be imported into other Eclipse workspaces by the ANALYZE users.

How to create and share workspace specific preferences​

itemis ANALYZE can be configured by specific preferences. These preferences can be exported to be provided to ANALYZE users. Thereby, the ANALYZE process engineer can ensure that all users work with the same preferences.

Workspace specific preferences can be exported by the following steps

  • Select Window → Preferences → itemis ANALYZE
  • Select the Export button in the Backup Preferences section
  • Select a folder and a name for the .epf file
  • Select save to export the preferences

The exported file can be imported into other Eclipse workspaces by the ANALYZE users.

Best Practices for ANALYZE Process Engineers​

This section contains best practices in working with Eclipse in general but also best practices in using itemis ANALYZE.

Same project and folder name​

It is a best practice from the Eclipse user community to use the same name for the folder of a project and for the project itself. Although itemis ANALYZE can handle different names, it is strongly recommended to apply this best practice.

Keep Configuration and Data close together​

itemis ANALYZE allows the ANALYZE process engineer to specify where to store the configuration file and also where to store the trace data file. The first can be specified by choosing Window → Preferences → itemis ANALYZE, the latter can be specified in the ANALYZE configuration by choosing Data Accesses → File. It is recommended to store both files in the same directory.