User Guide
This section provides advanced information for ANALYZE users regarding the setup of an Eclipse workspace with pre-configured project sets and preferences. Further, there is a best practices section for ANALYZE users.
How to import predefined project sets
Project sets can be provided by the ANALYZE process engineer to ensure that every workspace contains all required projects from different SCM repositories (e.g. SVN, GIT). By using pre-configured project sets the ANALYZE user doesn't have to care about where to find the required projects and how to import them into the workspace.
To use pre-configured project sets to set up the correct Eclipse workspace the following steps need to be executed
- Create an empty workspace
- Select File → Import → Team Project Set and click Next
- Select a file or URL to access the project set file
- Click finish to import all projects specified by the project set
How to import predefined workspace preferences
itemis ANALYZE allows workspace-specific preferences to customize the workspace. These preferences can be pre-defined and shared by the ANALYZE process engineer.
To import predefined workspace preferences the following steps need to be executed
- Select Window → Preferences → itemis ANALYZE
- Select the Import button in the Backup Preferences section
- Select the preferences file to be imported and click "Open"
Best Practices for ANALYZE Users
This section contains best practices in working with Eclipse in general but also best practices in using itemis ANALYZE.
Use Validation
It is recommended to use validation of your model while editing the trace model to ensure early feedback. Details on how to use validations can be found in the itemis ANALYZE help (Help → Help Contents → itemis ANALYZE → Usage → Validations).